memorize your rate card

You never know where you’ll be when a client calls you and needs a quote. Do not be pithy and quote from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade: “I worte it down so I don’t have to remember!”

I was in the grocery store the other day when a potential client called. I knew my rates including session fees, length of run, etc. I had the info in my mental Rolodex and gave him the quote right away, no delays. There was no “Let me call you back when I’m done trying to decide between Count Chocula and Cocoa Puffs”. Count Chocula every time, BTW.

Professional and always ready to give the client what they need, right away.

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

One response to “memorize your rate card

  • J. Christopher Dunn

    Hey Jeffrey,

    I think you’re offering good advice to have rates emblazoned in our brains. What works well for me is a rate per page/word or :30/:60. If needed, I typically give a general, ballpark rate and follow up with a proposal that more cleanly defines my rate break down.

Leave a Reply

