Voicey’s are here and I’m disappointed

The Voicey’s are an annual award “show” put on by the good people at Voices.com to honor the best (or most popular) people on their roster. Unfortunately, I’m a rather disappointed in the way they are handling them this year:

  1. The best new voice talent award has an age limit. You may not be older than 30 years. What the heck? I’m new to the biz and 35, so I’m not considered a new voice? The logic behind this one is completely baffling.
  2. The best male/female talent requires you to be pro for 3+ years. Couple that with the above requirement and you’ve just shut out any voice talent over the age of 35 who have been pro for less than 3 years from winning ANY award!
  3. As Caryn Clark pointed out, the best “teen” voice also has an age limit. Only teens can be nominated. But I’d put her teen voice (and Kara Edward’s) up against almost anyone’s. As well, I can do a convincing teen guy voice and would like to be nominated in this category as well. I can kind of understand where they’re coming from on this one, because I think they want to honor teen performers, not teen voices. The category is poorly named if that’s the case.

I would emplore Voices.com to reconsider their age restrictions, especially on point number 1 above. While I had no illusions that I’d win, at this point, I’m completely shut out of even trying for one.

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

One response to “Voicey’s are here and I’m disappointed

  • voicesdotcom

    Hi Jeffrey,

    I want to thank you for bringing this to my attention. Earlier this afternoon, I received your comment and within an hour, I had changed the criteria in the category to include applicants over the age of 30.

    Please see the comment I replied with on the Voicey Awards Best New Voice Category in response to your very insightful and appreciated feedback:

    Comments

    2 Responses to “Best New Voice Nomination Criteria”
    http://www.voiceyawards.com/best-new-voice-nomination-criteria/

    1. Jeffrey Kafer on January 3rd, 2008 2:56 pm

    Why the age limit? I’m 35 and new to the industry. But I’m still not qualified to be nominated?
    2. stephanie on January 3rd, 2008 3:36 pm

    Hi Jeffrey,

    Thanks for pointing that out. I’ve edited the description slightly to include consideration for applicants over 30.

    Cheers,

    Stephanie

    ~~

    I apologize for not emailing you directly following my response to your comment on the Voicey Awards site. In hindsight, it would have been better to have contacted you both through the commenting system as well as by email.

    Please accept my apologies and again I want to stress how grateful I was to receive your feedback earlier today.

    Best wishes,

    Stephanie Ciccarelli

Leave a Reply

