I’m paperless!

I’m not exactly an environmentalist, but I don’t believe in waste. I recycle as much as possible and compost yard and kitchen waste into an organic garden

But for the past year, I’ve been printing out all of my auditions and gigs. The reason for this was simple: I didn’t have a monitor in my booth. So when I cleaned up the paper and realized that I had printed almost an entire ream of paper for VO work, I needed to change.

Unfortunately, I had no way of getting a monitor in the booth. The logistics of it would have been wires and cables everywhere. My wife did not approve of the concept. She did, however, say I could have the closet that shares a wall with the booth….

IF I built shelves in the garage to store the stuff in the closet.

So I built the shelves, cleaned out the closet and put the main computer CPU in there. I drilled a hole in the wall that it shares with the booth and ran the necessary cables.

Now I have a monitor, mixer, keyboard and mouse in my booth. And with no CPU noise. And there are no wires anywhere since the whole thing is contained. I can do work without printing. And most importantly, I can SEE my levels in Audition as I record them.

I feel like I can deliver much more professional results in a shorter period of time.

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

