Quechup.com is Evil

Like many other VO artists, I have signed up for some of the social networking sites such as MySpeace, Facebook and LinkedIn. These are good for parking demos and some light networking with others in the business. As well, the links back to our real sites help boost search engine rankings.

So when a person i respect and trust invited me to join a new social networking site called Quechup.com, I signed up. My mistake was allowing a one-time access to my gmail address book so it could suggest people to invite.

When you sign up and allow this, they have checkboxes so you can choose who you do and don’t want to invite. I checked only a couple of boxes to invite only those I wanted to.

A few days later, my inbox is full of out of office replies and some people asking me why I invited them to this service. It turns out, Quechup.com lied and spammed EVERYONE in my address book with invites from yours truly to join the service.

So all of my business contacts, clients, family and friends got hit with this. What a monumental embarrassment. I sent out an apology letter to everyone in my address book and most replies were either joking at my expense or understanding. No one was mad. Hopefully this fiasco has not ruined any business relationships I had. Only time will tell.

The lesson? Just because you trust certain people, this is a strange time we live in. Don’t let your guard down.

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

