Switching Pre-amps

I’ve been a faithful user of the Mbox for a few years and so far I’ve not had any problems except one. About 20% of the time, the recordings I make will be filled with weird static-like distortion. I can go to the back of the box, unplug the USB cord and plug it back in and will record fine. Then it might slip into that weird mode again after a while. For recordings that I’m doing on my own, I can simply re-record the section that’s toast.

But this Friday, I have a phone session and I CANNOT risk having a ruined recording with the client on the line. So after much research, I got the new ART Tube MP USB to replace the Mbox. This is the classic ART Tube unit with USB outputs and a couple of other small bells and whistles.

It only sells for $99 and I bought it local when they matched the online prices of Sweetwater and Zzounds. Plus I didn’t have to pay shipping or wait 3 days hoping it would arrive by Friday. Plus I like to keep my business local. My mom owned a shop when I was a kid so I’m predisposition to frequenting locally-owned places.

I have to say I’m impressed with the ART Tube. It sounds great, easily on par with the Mbox. Plus it doesn’t require Pro Tools which I despise on Windows and it works out of the box with Audition. One of the selling points of the ART Tube is it’s warm sound. Can someone tell me exactly what that means?

Anyhoo, I’m all set for Friday!

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

