Learning from Big Fish

So far I’m enjoying working with the Big Fish Voice Company. While I haven’t booked any gigs, I’ve had some very interesting auditions. And it’s fun to see some seriously lucrative gigs go by mail inbox. While it’s still a bit of a cattle call, it’s not nearly what you get from Voice123. Instead, this is a selected group of professionals answering the call for auditions.

And Becky, the Big Fish agent, does an interesting thing. Once the client decides who they want, she actually sends the winning audition around to everyone. I find this to be incredibly valuable. When I got the winning audition file for the first gig I tried out for, I found the actor’s take to be very interesting, very professional, and very good. The choices he made were different from mine and when listening, it was very clear that his choices were more appropriate than mine. I’m not saying better. As an actor, your choice is never wrong if you commit to it. But the client may find his more right than mine. It’s a subtle, yet important distinction.

Even if I don’t book gigs through Big Fish, I know I’ll learn a lot.

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

