Swimming with the Fishes

One of the memories that sticks with me is when I was first starting out about 3 years ago. I had just cut my first demo before I knew what a demo was supposed to be. I sent it off to The Big Fish Voice Company. A few days later, I got a thanks-but-no-thanks email. I was bummed, because as a true newbie, I had no clue what I was doing, nor what I was doing wrong. I’ve since lost the original email, but the lady at Big Fish was so nice to me in the email. She gave me pointers and resources and suggested I get some training. She pointed me at their website and told me to listen to the competition and resubmit when I am on par with them. And it was all done in a very nice, professional manner. They could have laughed at me, written me off, or told me not to quit my day job. But instead, they encouraged me and remained positive. And I never forgot it.

For fun, here’s the reel that I submitted. I’m amazed at how much I think I’ve grown since then.

So on a whim, I submitted my reels again last week to The Big Fish Voice Company. I was pretty sure I would get rejected. Today, I got my reply.

They accepted me.

After a few years of working, I hit a personal milestone. I got into the talent agency I wanted to get into years ago. Needless to say, I’m very excited. And of course, scared!

This agency represents some seriously good talent. These are the big dogs and as someone on the VO-BB said, I need to bring my A-game to every audition. There’s a good chance I won’t find much work due to the intense competition, but the acceptance is further encouragement that I’m doing something right.

And success or not, I’m having an absolute blast.

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

