You may be non-profit, but I’m not

I peruse Craigslist a lot looking for the occasional gig. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen gigs that offer no compensation. The reason?

“We’re a non-profit, so we can’t pay you.”

Since when does non-profit mean non-money-at-all? I don’t mean to sound greedy or heartless and I’m more than willing to volunteer my voice to the right cause, but I get annoyed when people use the non-profit thing as an excuse for getting free work.

Still seem heartless?

Non-profit companies are big business. Do you think the CEO of the United Way is a volunteer? Certainly not. I’m sure that person is getting at least 6 figures. My parent’s church is a non-profit, but they still have to pay their bills. And so do I.

So why are voice talents supposed to volunteer their services just because the client is a non-profit? As someone on the VO-BB said “I’ll volunteer my services if everyone else on the project is doing likewise.”

Sounds like a fair deal to me.

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

