I hit a milestone

I started this blog about 10 days ago and in that post I said that I had never gotten paid for a gig. But as of this weekend, that is no longer true.

I landed my first paid gig!

While I’m not going to be starring in the next Pixar movie, I did land the lead role in a grad student’s thesis project, a short animated film. The script is solid and the animation is wonderful. Check out the preview here. The narration was my original audition.

This may not be a huge gig or the highest paying, but it is validation that my persistence and work are at least heading me in the right direction. And despite what the nicest man in show business Bob Souer says, this doesn’t make me a professional, at least not up to his caliber of professionalism anyway. I still have a long way to go to be half as good as Bob. But I sure do appreciate the words of encouragement.

Stay tuned, hopefully there will be more to come!

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

