Microsoft AdCenter Part 1

Last night I signed up for Microsoft AdCenter (Full disclosure: I work for Microsoft) and just to make sure things were similar for my comparison to Google Adwords, I used the same ad text and same keywords. Over the course of 24 hours, I got 133 impressions and no clicks and my bids never went above $.75 for front page listings. Seems depressing? Not really, because it didn’t cost me a dime. Compare to Google Adwords which had 486 impressions and 6 clicks. Over the course of the week, I had 37 clicks. But no job leads. And I’m out my orignal $20 credit.

As well, I had next to no impressions or clicks on Adwords for keywords which might matter more such as “Business narration” and “corporate powerpoint”. The generic “Voice-over” on Google generated more impressions, but who cares? That could be someone searching for voice talent, someone searching to learn how to be one, or someone trying to figure out who played the voice of Curious George (Frank Welker). I’ll take impressions and clickthroughs from a keyword like “Business narration” than from “Voice talent” any day. My original thought of Adcenter catering to businesses seems to be backed up by the types of impressions I generated.

Going to stick with Adcenter for a while and see how it goes. Stay tuned….

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

