Google adwords

I got an email today from my ISP offering me $25 in free credits for Google Adwords. I figured I’d give it a shot. For those who don’t know, Google adwords is the program that allows you to have your links under the “Sponsored links” section of the search engine results. If someone searches for “Voice over artist”, my natural listing is probably around page 300 of results. This means virtually no one will click on my link. But with Adwords, I can pay Google to list my ad higher and therefore generate more clicks.

The first thing you do is choose how much per day you want to spend. I chose $5 just to test the waters. After I’ve racked up $5 in clicks, my add will disappear for the day. This way, I can test the system for a week and see if it generates any traffic. After you choose your maximum budget, you choose how much you are willing to pay Google per click. So every time someone clicks on my ad through the Sponsored Links page, I owe Google 15 cents for a maximum of $5 per day.

I’ll report on my results as they come in.

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

