Chamber of Commerce

I live in a small suburb of Seattle. if you didn’t know that Seattle was a mere 30 miles away, you’d think I live in the middle of nowhere. But thanks to the wonders of the Internet, I can live pretty much anywhere and still achieve VO success. But that’s not really my point because you all know that already….

As a member of a small town, I looked up the local Chamber of Commerce online. I filled out the form indicating I was interested and checked the box that said contact me by email only. Naturally, I got a phone call. So now I’m being pestered to join the local Chamber of Commerce and I can’t figure out if it’s a good way to spend $200. The benefits as given to me:

  • Meetings with local businesses – great for networking but probably not much business there for VO work
  • Access to a list of all residential addresses – virtually useless to me unless I’m a pizza joint handing out coupons.I don’t intend to paper the neighborhoods with demo CDs.
  • Newsletters – blah blah
  • discounted ads in things like town maps – again useless.

But I’m really tempted because of the first bullet point so I can socialize and talk up my business. While these people may not have any need of my services, they may know someone in Redmond or Bellevue or Seattle who does. I understand the value of networking. But with a limited budget for advertising, is this the best bang for my $200? And really, all I need to do is land a single gig to earn back that $200.

Any other VO people members of their local Chamber of Commerce? I’d love to know how it work for you. Leave me a comment and let’s discuss!

About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

