Welcome to my blog

This blog is going to be a little different than other blogs of voice-over artists. First of all, I’m not a professional VO artist yet. You may have noticed that by listening to my demo reel. I think it sounds pretty good, but it just isn’t “there” yet. And what makes this blog different from other VO blogs?

I’ve never gotten a paid VO gig.

There I said. I admitted it. Pretty pathetic eh? So why am I even trying to be a voice-over artist? Because I really, really want to. And that’s good enough. While I’ve done lots of VO, it’s all been for free. I’ve even been in published video games. I’ve narrated 3 audiobooks at podiobooks.com (and am working on the 4th), done various corporate projects, and narrated stories for web publishing. But no one has ever given me money to do their voice-overs. So I’m going to document my rise from VO nobody to VO…. something. I could still be a nobody after this is all over. I could be a sorta somebody. Or I could be huge (yeah right). But this blog will pull no punches. I’ll be candid about what I’ve done, mistakes I’ve made and the process I’m going through to try to make it in this crazy business.

So if you want to get the lowdown on what it’s like to be at the bottom of the VO food chain, then subscribe to my blog, read the RSS feed and join the ride. We’ll see where this bus ends. And like every great road trip, the more I have traveling with me, the more fun the ride will be.

UPDATE: This about page is way out of date, but I’m leaving it here as a reminder of where I was and where I still need to go. While I’m firmly in the realm of Professional (re: paid) voice over artists, the journey still continues to greatness and the charter of this blog remains the same. Thanks for joining me on this adventure.
About Jeffrey Kafer

I am a Seattle-based voice over artist specializing in audiobooks, but also working in corporate narration and commercials. You can find me at http://audiobook-voice-over.com View all posts by Jeffrey Kafer

Leave a Reply

